The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of the given passage provides arguments that leads to a conclusion. But the conclusion is based on vague language used for the arguments. The author says that their late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news instead of weather and local news although the argument does not provide any data about the year before the last and whether they had a huge viewer-base during that time, rendering the conclusion that if they restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, it will attract more viewers to the program, invalid. The author also bases his facts on certain assumptions that are sufficient to challenge authors conclusions.

Firstly, the author says that during the past year most of the complaints they received from viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. It cannot be judged from the author's language about how many complaints were registered. It may happen that there were only 5 complaints out of which 3 were regarding the weather and local news. Also it is vague not understood from the author's language that the complaints were for the late-nighht shows or the ones which were shown during the day time. Thus the conclusion that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level for the late night shows will attract more viewers is not valid.

Furthermore, the author writes that the local businesses that used to advertise on their late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts due to increased time to national news is baseless. The author does not mention whether they have made contract with them for the morning shows or that these businesses do not require advertising anymore. Thus increasing time for local and weather news does not guarantee that they won't lose further contracts.