The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University. "Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It seems axiomatic that Humana University should follow the policy of Omni University that provides online degree programs. To support the argument the president cites a significant drop of expenditures for dormitory and classroom space that is most likely because of Omni University's online instructions. Humana University, in contrast, is stagnant in growth of enrollment and cost of facility maintenance has increased. However, the president's claim is not cogent because of several reasons.

First, the author posits that online programs in Omni University is successful since the enrollment increased by 50% from last year. This data, nonetheless, could be an aberrant data that only applies for this year. Also, it could also be that 50% increase is coming from 2 students last year and 3 students this year, which, if true, will fail to elucidate the success of the program. Without considering these possibilities, the author cannot draw any firm conclusion that the online program offered by Omni University is successful.

Second, the president conjectures that Omni University's significant expenditures decrease owes to the cost decrease for dormitory and classroom space. Nevertheless, cost decrease for dormitory and classroom space cannot accurately manifest the reason of decrease in expenditure of the entire cost. Perhaps, the entire expenditure of the school might have increased due to its heavy investment on its online degree programs. Unless the author provides exact document of the total costs, the claim will remain gratuitous.

Another supposition the author has is that Humana University's lack of growth in enrollment rate and increase in cost are due to not implementing online degree program. The president's argument, nevertheless, is flawed since it fails to consider confounding variables. Humana University's enrollment rate could be stagnant because of the school's lack of funding for students, low quality of lectures, and not enough promotion. Since the author is not considering these variables, the author's claim is flawed.

Lastly, the president supposes that the situations of both Humana University and Omni University are the same; thus, same policy will elicit same outcome. First, it is not proven that online programs contributed to O's positive changes. And even if it is true, the situations for both schools are different. Omni University could be funded more by the government for their online degree programs. Also, Omni University could be generally more preferred by students owing to its various majors and stellar faculties. Without identifying and weighing these possibilities, the author's argument remains unconvincing.

All in all, the president's claim remains gratuitous. To strengthen this claim, the author should provide more information about exact enrollment number at Omni and Humana, accurate revenue-expense analysis, and education environment of Humana and Omni University.