The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter, the author puts forward his recommendation to integrate a café service to the already existing library in order to capitalize on its popularity. in the author’s point of view, the section dedicated to children book would be shut down in order to free space for the café. As a rebuttal to these points, we can argues that this recommendation is rifle with holes and missing information that leave us and potentially the people who are to decide on investing on such project unconvinced.

It is clear that adding a café would be complementary to the well-established librarian business model, although, we need to know the current context of the business. I struggle to find any trace for customers break down into ages groups. The author claims that the library is popular since it has a wide selection of books on the other hand, it would be a pity to recommend the closure of kids section while it might be the biggest age category. Moreover, it is not only about popularity of one department, there is also the marginal income of the books that varies between different books. E.G It might be true that selling one unit of a child book import to the library as much as if they would have sold 3 adult fiction books.

in addition, the most recent national census that indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten does not say much about their corresponding percentage in the particular neighborhood of the library.

Furthermore, closing the kid section could have an potential impact on other departments. I could imagine families that use to come with their kids and found books for all tastes and age ranges would stop frequenting Monarch Books.

The arguments used are neither convincing nor conclusive. While starting a new café may add to the library, however, this would not be at the cost of already well running business as the old proverb suggest “never change a running business”.