The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument cites that the faculty support that the college should put the tradition, only female students allowed, into rest. Meanwhile, the students and alumnae have the opposite view. The author concludes that maintaining the custom of the college would bolster the morale of students and keep the financial donation from the alumnae stable. However, there are some question without answering, which rendering the argument a little unconvincing.

First of all, the author mentions that the faculty advocates the coeducation since there will be more male students applying to the college. Nevertheless, it might cause that the other potential applicants, who desire to go to a female only school, drop out. In other words, there might be more male applicants, but less female applicants. For instance, if the college changes the custom and allows male students to apply, there might be 200 male applicants, while the female applicants would be 300 less than the other years. Therefore, it is hard to judge that the change would bring more applicants or not.

Secondly, the writer contends that keeping the tradition could strength the morality amongst the students. Nonetheless, if keeping the tradition can bolster the morality, for so many years maintaining, the morality should be already improved. It is a question that why the morality would be reinforced when there is nothing changed. Furthermore, in the argument, there is no causation between single gender education and high morality. Thus, there remains an issue that sole female education could boost the morality of students or not.

Finally, the author assumes that since there are more alumnae who want to keep the tradition, obey their desire would ensure the financial income from them. Notwithstanding, not all the alumnae had donated to the school. Probably, a part of them had no donation but disagree the change, while the other part of them had donated but agree the change. In this way, if the school still keeps the tradition, they might lose the funding from who support the coeducation, which might be a large amount in the whole donation. Hence, there is no direct relation between the desire of altogether alumnae and the desire of some people who donate.

To sum up, with lack of information to the question above, the recommendation could be plausible. To bolster the recommendation, the author should provide answers of the desire of potential applicants, the connection between single gender education and morality, and the research for the generous alumnae.