The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There is hardly any real evidence that could ever support the claim of the report publicized in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council. The claim is actually so implausible and unconvincing it is almost funny. There are so many holes in the logic and the presentation of this claim it is really hard to note them all in a short essay so we will try to point the reader to few of the most noticeable ones.

First and foremost, the one thing I do remember most of my MIT introduction to programming online class was one of the lecturers emphasize on the “Correlation does not imply causation”, and here is a classic appearance of this phenomena. It might be true that there is more fish consumption in East Meria. And, it might be true that the schoolers in East Meria catch fewer colds and that they skip fewer days, but there could be so many other reasons for West Merians to skip school, other than fish consumption. To name a few, the school in East Meria might be better so the kids feel happy to attend it. Or the East Meria socio-economic metric is more funding of education. Those other reason making the picking of the fish consumption seem to be forced and unnatural. Thus, the correlation itself is not enough to base action upon it.

Another dubious part is that the council recommends a specific supplement derived from fish oil rather than to eat real fish. Taking a supplement and eating raw food is hardly the same thing. Moreover, if the people of East Meria can afford to eat raw fish it is highly likely that the people of West Meria can afford to buy fish at more or less the same price. Therefore, the choice of the supplement is questionable and is undermining the previous assumption that fish consumption will improve the colds. It is more corrigible to suggest a consumption of real fish rather than any derivative of the fishery. Especially under the given information of proximity and data of East and West Meria.

The proper way to rais the school attendance should be by carrying a detailed comparison between East and West Meria. What are the schools like? Is there any factory that carries out a risk of pollution to the West Merians? There are many questions to be answered in such a survey. After there is an ample amount of data, only then could the community come with a good solution path to make fewer absenteeisms. The fact the absents reported on schools and workplace alike hints on a deeper reason than sole consumption of fish which should be researched and analyzed more in order to come with a valid solution.