The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company stated that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising because people are not aware of the availability of movies with good quality. The reason to state this is that during past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year even though the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. However, there are several questions they need to answer in order to decide whether the recommendation is reasonable.

The director stated that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Firstly, they need to ask what the genres of that specific movies are. It is possible that the specific movies which receive positive reviews are from the same genre and movies from other genres might be getting negative reviews. It is also possible that most of the viewers are interested in other genres and those specific movies are not one of them. Therefore, they need to ask questions relating to the genres that the viewers are interested in before they decide whether or not the recommendation is reasonable.

Secondly, the director did not state the actually numbers of positive reviews. It is possible that the percentage of the positive reviews increased because the overall number of the reviews decrease. For example, they might be getting 2 positive reviews out of 5 during the past year and 3 positive reviews out of 10 in other years. It is also possible that reviewers who do not like the movies did not even bother to write a review about it. Therefore, they need to focus on those detail analysis before deciding whether the recommendation is reasonable.

Lastly, the director did not state anything about other movie production companies which might be their threat. They should ask whether or not there are other movie production companies which are doing better than theirs. It is possible that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies because movies from other companies are more appealing and more interesting that they capture the interest of people. Thus, they need to observer their environment before making a decision.

In conclusion, questions relating to the genres that viewers are interested in, the data comparison between the past years and every other years, and the movies of other production company are required to asked before deciding whether the recommendation is reasonable or not.