The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends that in order to increase the cinema attendance of its movies the company should allocate more of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To support this recommendation he points out that the number of people attended Super-Screen-produced movies decreased last year while the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific its movies increased which suggests that these positive reviews are not reaching enough to prospective viewers. The director’s argument, however, is not persuasive from several aspects.

Firstly, the company must consider whether the proportion of viewers attended its movies among all the production companies last year saw a rise, for the reason that the whole industry may suffer a recession due to economic depression which could result in less individual spending for entertaining. If this is the case, it seems unnecessary for Super Screen to pour more fiscal resources into advertising its own films because this increased proportion is compatible with its raised percentage of positive reviews. Secondly, the company need to figure out how many percent of positive reviews had increased and what the initial percentage was during the past year. For example, if Super Screen’s movies received 1% of positive reviews initially and thus even a 10% increase through last year is meaningless, which only reveals the poor quality of Super Screen’s movies.

Even assuming that the positive reviews of Super Screen’s movies raised evidently and played a dominant part last year, the company have to ask whether there is a positive correlation between critics’ reviews and people’s desire to watch its movies. Sometimes, people’s desire to see a film have little to do with reviewer’s opinions, other factors such as a strong cast and the sheer popularity of the novel from which a movie adapted etc. Furthermore, critics’ taste of a movie may vary greatly from common audience, for example a mega blockbuster with spectacular special effects can often rule the box office while critics even disdains to talk about it. Finally, even assuming that positive reviews do promote a movie’s box office, Super Screen must ask where these reviews are from. If the increase of positive reviews came from many obscure critics and several most famous reviewers criticized its movies harshly, then public opinion would surely be deeply influenced by those powerful establishment, thus Super Screen needs to think of a new advertising strategy.

In conclusion, the advertising director’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it the Super Screen Company needs to figure out the change of the percentage of audience attended its movies among all the movie companies and the actual number of positive reviews last year. Most importantly, the company must identify the relationship between reviewers’ reviews of a movie and people’s desire to watch that movie. Only in this way can Super Screen find an appropriate and effective strategy of advertising.