The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument concludes that past year there was a decline in the number of viewers of the Super Screen-produced movies even though the percentage of positive reviews increased. The production company claims that this decline can be altered by investing a greater share of budget in public advertsisng. This is rather a naive assumption as it is based on a single factor, while totally ignoring the rest. Let us consider and discuss some other facts in closer detail.

The argument claims that there was an increase in the percentage of positive viewers from the last year. It does not provide any actual figures to support this claim. For example if last year there were 100 positive reviews and this year the critics gave 101 positive reviews then there was in increment in the number of positive reviews but this increment was merely 1%. This is not at all a great increment. Instead, if the argument had stated actual numbers by which the reviews have increased this claim would have been more substantial.

The production company assumes that people like their movies and that nothing is worng with the quality of their movie. This claim can and cannot be true. Even if the critics gave a positive review it does not mean that people will like the movie. Everyone has different choices and a different perception towards everything. What critics might like may not be the same as public choices. Any science fiction movie take for example Interstellar which was highly appreciated by the critics and had a great impact on the youth, but there are chances that the general public could not understand the movie.

Overall the Super Screen Movie production company makes a prediction that is untrustworthy. Some more research should be conducted to see if indeed such changes will be affective, and if not, what should be done instead. If proper investigation is implemented by the management, Super Screen Movie production company may reverse the decline.