The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company has reached a conclusion that the cause behind fewer people attending Super Screen produced movies lies not in the poor quality of the movies but indeed the lack of public awareness about the availability of good quality movies. Well, the conclusion of the argument is based on some assumptions and flaw in the reasoning on the director's end.

Firstly, the director assumes that the quality of movies produced by the company hasn't deteriorated but in fact improved comparatively due to the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies increased during the past year. It is certainly possible that more movie reviewers are penning down their opinions this year compared to the prior years because the restriction being lifted that used to restrict the reviews the years before. Possibly, the marketing team this year paid the movie reviewers lavishly to praise a high budget film released this year, which the makers were unsure would entertain the audience.

Secondly, the quality of the movies produced by the company hasn't been at par with those that they produced the years before. Additionally, the company released films lesser than the average films released in a year, which led to the decline in the movie goers attending to watch their movies. There could be an alternate reason for the dearth of movie goers as they could watch the same movies that would be available later in DVD form, at their own comforts.

Finally, there is a slight discrepancy in the report published by the marketing department. A comprehensive research in all the parts of the country is not likely made, possibly the report involves just a part of the country where the citizens are less inclined to attend movies due to other entertainment options at their disposal or due to lack of cinemas in the area.

In the end, a thorough research about the issue in hand needs to be made before reaching any conclusion about increasing the budget on advertising. It could be possible that the advertising budget is quite adequate but the company lacks in some other areas that require immediate attention and need to be corrected before it reached a situation where the situation reaches an impasse and there is no way out.