"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author concludes that more expenditure on advertising is likely to attract greater viewership of super screen produced movies. His argument may seem logical and convicing at first glance, however, the author needs to answer a few questions and clarify things to bolster his claim.

Firstly, the author states that the viewership was lower during the past year as compared to the previous year and this he sees as a contradiction to the percentage of positive reviews. The word "yet" on the fourth line of second paragraph is indicatve of that. However, keenly examining the scenario, it only seems obvious and not contradictory that the percentage of positive reviews has gone up as the total number of viewers have gone down. In fact, the viewers who have been retained or are new would have liked previous movies by super screen and as such the number of positive feedback remained the same whereas the total being reduced, the percentage has gone higher. It would be helpful to know if the number of positive reviews have gone higher and not the percentage.

Secondly, the author claims that the positive reviews are not reaching prospective viewers. It would be helpful to know who are these prospective viewers and what do they actually want to see. The author has concluded since they haven't come to watch the movies, they also haven't read the reviews. It is very hasty conclusion to make without knowing those prospective viewers and their preferences as it is highly likely that they came accross those "positive" reviews and then chose to not watch the movie since "positive" is a subjective matter. Horror movies might be a positive experience for someone and totally daunting for other person - something that he doesn't enjoy.

Thirdly, it is important to understand the genre of these movies. Were the movies produced in previous years were from the same genre or different genres. And then do a market analysis of which is more commonly preferred among the viewers. In such a scenario, no matter how much you advertise is not going to help. What kind of movies you produce and "how" you adverstise them is more relevant.

This brings me to my fourth and final point, which is to undertand the nature of adverstisements that the author is talking about. Ultimate aim of advertising is to create more awareness if the right medium is not used to target the prospective viewers then no matter how much Sper screen spends on avertising, it won't be effective until the medium chosen is the right one. For example, if the maximum viewerhip of such moview is senior citizens who