The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

In the above statement, the author states that the recent recession of the Super Screen Movie is due to the lack of budget to the advertisement. Thus, the author concludes that more share of the budget from the company should be allocated to the advertisement. While supporting the argument, the author makes numerous assumptions that is not taken for granted. Thus, further evidence pertatining to make his assertion more valid is required.

Firstly, the author assumes that the decrease of viewers for the Super Screen Movie indicates the poor advertisement ability by the company. However, it may not be the case. The author asserts the few people watching their movies is their specific problem. However, the nation could be suffering from recession, leading people to constrain their private budget allocated to enjoy cultural activities. In addition, the movie quality might, in fact, not be as good as other production made movies. The reviews itself could be based on a mere number of reviews. Although a great percentage of that reviews commented positively, the number itself could be very small. Therefore, the advertisement's quality could not be to be blamed for. Thus, further evidence pertaining to the other reasons for the decrease of viewers for the Super Screen movies should be checked.

Secondly, the poor quality that the Super Screen Movie assumes for their advertising strength is not conclusively proven. The movie viewers who watch their movie might share a similar characteristic. They might acknowledge the Super Screen Movie's advertisement the best among other production. However, those viewers watching their movie might be reluctant to share a good movie with others because of their selfishness, trying to watch a good movie only by themselves. The innate characteristics of the viewers is not a thing that the production can change through their improving of the advertisements. As such, more detailed evidence of the movie's quality, and the research over the viewer's characteristics should be propounded to validate the author's claim.

Lastly, the author assumes that the budget allocating more toward the advertisement sector will not hamper the movie's quality. However, if the company actually do pay more attention to the advertising itself, the less attention the movie makings will naturally get could be a natural process. Thus, it could lead to more serious deficit of the viewers. Therefore, whether the movie production's quality is guaranteed even with more allocation of budget shared to the advertisement should be validated in order to strengthen the advertising director's claim.

In sum, the author's claim is not conclusively proven as in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the other reasons available to the decreased viewers, the movie's quality compared to other production's movies, and the attention the movie production will get after allocating more financial support toward the advertising sector should be propounded to assert the director's assertion more aggresively.