The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo states that a recent report shows a decrease in people attending super screen-produced movies. Since the percentage of positive review is increased, the only reason for this drawback is with the lack of publicity. The memo then draws the conclusion that a greater share of budget needs to be allocated for better advertising. This conclusion however is drawn rather quickly without considering all possible options and hence the argument is filled with loopholes.

Firstly, the conclusion is drawn from a recent report from the marketing department. Hence the first assumption involved while drawing up the current conclusion is that the report is error free. Even if the report was error free, the reason for decreased viewers could be because of reasons other than the lack of awareness of the public. There could be a much better competition nearby which is stealing the viewers of super screen or decrease in quality of movie.

Secondly, the conclusion is drawn from the fact that the percentage of positive reviews have increased. This could be because the majority of the unsatisfied customers did not review the movie. Also, previously unsatisfied viewers could have stopped from viewing super screen produced movies. It also mentions that positive reviews of only specific movies have increased. There is no mention about the number of these movies or what portion of the entire SS produced movies these are. Hence, the conclusion that the problem lies only on lack of awareness of the public is not completely acceptable.

Thirdly, the memo states that the possible measure against this drawback is to increase its budget for advertising. Since it is entirely possible that the problem lies on reasons others than publicity, this action would be useless to solve the current situation. Also, since there is no mention that the budget for advertising was decreased for the past year as compared to the other years taken for the report, increasing the budget for advertising might not be necessary.

To conclude, the present situation needs to be re-analyzed thoroughly before taking any action. The reason for such a decline in viewers have to be found rather than assuming that the problem lies in advertising without solid evidence.