The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any

The argument claims that the decline in number of movie goers of Super Screen movies is due to lack of awareness among people that good quality movies are available and hence Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next to reach public through advertisement and create awareness. Stated in this way, the argument reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. It fails to mention several key factors, on basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of argument relies on assumptions for which there are no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

Firstly, it is not certain on how many movies were released last year. Was the number of movies released last year in tantamount to the number of movies released a year prior? As it could occur that, there were less number of movies released last year and hence, fewer number of people have attended super screen movies over a year.

Secondly, the director mentions that the percentage of positive reviews on specific movies increased over the last year. However he fails to account that the number of negative reviews could have also increased on other super screen movies. This altogether could have created a sense of reluctance among movie goers for superscreen movies. Also, it is not mentioned whether the positive reviews received on super screen movies were for the movies released last year. It can very much happen, that the reviews were written for super screen classics released years back which are no longer available in the movie halls.

Thirdly, the director's argument does not answer if there has been an increase in price of tickets for super screen movies. It could happen that, forecasting a good number of people coming to see the movies next year, the price per ticket had been substantially increased for last year. Hence, people would be less inclined to watch Super Screen movies at the movie hall and instead bought DVDs and watched movie at home.

Lastly, the director did not account for the pirated DVDs available in the market for Super Screen Movies. As the awareness of quality movies by Super Screen Movie Production Company increased, the pirated DVDs of super screen movies started circulating in the market much early and hence, people simply downloaded/bought the pirated versions and this reduced the percentage of movie goers over the last year.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is there unconvincing. Until the above questions are answered, the advertising director's argument to increase the advertising budget and reach out to more public to generate awareness is fallacious.