The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company tells us about his or her plan to increase the viewership of their movies by advertising. The director is telling that the increase in percentage of positive votes is an indicator of a good quality of movie and the reason for less number of people attending the movie is the dearth of publicity of the movie. While the director's argument may be tempting but there are certain flaws and scarcity of the information which makes his or her argument a fallacious only. Hence, the director's claim is not strong enough to be credulous for us.

Firstly, the director is apprising us that the augmentation in positive review of the movie is an indicator that there is no problem in content of the movie. But this is totally wrong analogy. Since there are less number of people in audience and they have come because they earlier liked the movie thats why the increase in positive review has been noticed. This review is giving only a partial opinion regarding the content of the movie. Drawing a conclusion that the content of the movie is good one is not a logical one. If author could give us more information abouth the contnet of the moview which proves it to be good one, then his or her claim could be a string one.

Secondly, the review given by the small section of the society can be biased or not a disinterested one. The review might be influenced by some personal gain and it might not be a genuine one. We dont have any information in the given snippet about the credibility of the review given by the reviewers. If author could give us the information about the background of the audiences and their reviews then his claim could be more credulous for us.

Thirdly, the author is trying to convey to us that the lack of publicity of the movie is the reason of the scarcity in number of audiences of the movie. But, it could be possible that it is the taste of the audiences that is driving to this decrease in number. Most of the audiences might find that the genre of the movie does not suit them that shwy they have not come for the new version of the movie. There is no data or imformation given by the author to deny this fact. If he or she could give such details, his argument could be more acceptable to us.

Fourthly, there might be that problem in collection of the review. There might be issue with the mecanism or the system of collection of review which is giving us the fallacious idea of augmentation of positive reviews. There is no information given by the author about the review system. His argumbet could be more believable for us if he could mentions such information.

Fifthly, there is no detials given by the author about how the advertising campain will happen and how mush it will cost and how it can compell the people to see their movie. Without such information allocating budget would be a action without clause which may in turn make derimental effect on the economic condition of the Super Screen Procuction Company. Hence, these information should be their from the author side to make his claim more viable to us.

Therefore, due to the lack of information and resoning the claim that the author is giving is not a string one to believe. He could apprise us about the review system, the background of reviewers, more ground level study and data about the decrease in number of viewers and the details of the campaign of teh advertisement. This information could give us a strong point to accept his or her claim.