The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director, from the Super Screen Movie Production Company, has passed a memo stating that, less number of viewers have turned out to see the movies produced by them eventhough having recieved good reviews for their movies. So the company must put in more budget in the advertisement of the movie, as the reviews are not reaching enough people. But I feel that the argument is full of loopholes and flaws and should not be passed.

Firstly, the director states that the viewers that turned out for their movies are less as compared to other years. He states the reason behind this that the reviews of the movies do not reach the public and hence there are less attendees. But the director fails to give a proper report of the people attending. It may be possible, that this year the movies may have been screened in less number of theaters than past years. This could be the one possibility why people turn out in less numbers even while having good rviews.

Further, there are many other aspects associated to it as well. It may be that the company is making movies in which the actors and actresses are not as famous and appealing than movies of other productions. There may be a movie alongside their movies that features better actors ans actresses. Also, the story and genre of the movie may not be as good as other movies. They must focus on making a movie with better actors and a very trendy and enthralling storyline.

Also, the director claims that the reviews are not reaching prospective viewers, and so people dont attend the movies. But, it may be just that, even after reading the better reviews of the movie, people dont want to spend money watching them in theaters. There may be a possiblity of piracy involved and people have access to the movies on the internet. Hence, it would be more advisable to put their finances in preventing piracy.

Therefore, seeing all the above reasons, it is quite evident that the author has not seen every aspect profoundly, and does not bolster his argument well with more evidences. Thus, the argument fails and the memo should not be passed. The author should try to analyze all the aspects properly and then try to put forward a solution.