The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument given by author about increasing budget allocation in advertising is not entirely convincing. There are some ambiguities in the argument and which raise some questions over it. To come up with a better solution, we should analyse these issues and answering them will help super screen in solving the viewers problem.

Firstly, what way other producer are getting effected. It may happen that the reduction is common with every production. Nowadays with rise in piracy of the movies, many viewers are not coming to theaters for watching movies. If this is the effect common to all production houses then Super Scree movies should try to cooperate with other production houses and try to come up with some solution instead of spending the budget on advertising.

Also, the author has assumed that good reviews convert into good number of viewers, which might not be true. Consider the art movies, those movies will get good reviews and awards but most of the times it will not be a blockbuster. So author need to consider the question, Which type of movies are attracting the people and what type of movies super screen is producing , this analysis will bring up the clear figure of expected viewers for a movie and may help in future production of right type of movies.

Also, author argument is based on fact that present advertising is not reaching the intended viewers. But there is also a case where it is reaching the intended viewer but the content of the advertising is not attractive. In that case the author should make a survey soliciting the viewers response on the advertising. In that case instead of increasing the budget of advertising we need to check the content of the advertisements.

Apart from that, the author should consider, When the movies are being released, it is observed that during festival season, many movies will get good viewership. So a better time of release is also needed to be considered. By answering this question we may adjust the release dates without increase in budget for advertisements.

Ultimately, from the above analysis, the author need should answer the above questions so as to get to crux of the problem and find the necessary reasons causing it. By adding that information, the argument can lead to better solution and help Super Screen movies get better viewership.