The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A bank manager has received a proposal of a person to set up a jazz club "The C note" averring it would be prosperous in the town of Monroe. The basis of his proposal is founded in the apparent popularity of Jazz in the city and in surveys of differente kinds. While this argument seems very convincing at first glance, there are critical flaws that raise doubt on the use of the evidence the author makes to draw his conclusion.

The first logical weakness the argument suffers from is the fact that over 100,000 people has attended Monroe's jazz festival. This falls under the number-fallacy category and can be problematic since the origins of festival attendants are not informed, thus, different scenarios migth be possible. If it turns out that the majority of the people came from cities other than Monroe, then this would not ensure people going to the club, but, if the majority of the attendants to the festival happen to be citizens of Monroe, Jazz will surely be very popular and it would be very likely for the C-note to have many costumers.

Secondly, the fact that a jazz radial program is the highest-rated in town doesn't mean that the C note is going to have consumers. Voters of this poll might just like to listen to he music in the comfort of their house. Or, if, for example, the majority of voters are senior citizens, they may not want to spend time in a club. Similarly, if the listener of the Jazz program are mostly taxi drivers, they will most likely have no time or the means to attend the club. Therefore, this evidence is not a clear indication of the future potential of the C note club.

In addition, the author assumes that the fact that many jazz players live in town will increase the popularity of the club. However, famous people usually look for places where they can live low-profile. It is likely that they might attend once or twice the club maybe in its inaugural event, however, it is not likely that they attend regularly or even perform in this place. Therefore, some jazz performers living in Monroe is not a crucial indication that the club will have success.

Finally, the author claims that a nationwide study is suitable to average Monroe city's expenditure of fans on entertainment. It falls under a part-whole fallacy. Although it is possible to compare a nationwide study's outcome to a city, nothing in the passage warrants that the study reflects the views of a small geographic region accurately. If Monroe doesn't have the typical jazz fans who spends $1,000 in jazz entertainment and has far-fom-the-average atypical fans who spend $50 or $100, it would result in less consumers eager to spend on the club.

In short, for all of the above reason, the writer of the bank proposal has drawn a dubious conclusion. It is likely that the club makes money, however, greater evidence regarding the jazz festival, the radio program rating and the relevance of using the survey and the nationwide study as support, has to be provided to make his argument more convincing to the reader.