A group of volunteers participated in a study of consumer responses to the new Luxess face cream. Every morning for a month, they washed their faces with mild soap and then applied Luxess. At the end of that month, most volunteers reported a marked improvement in the way their skin looked and felt. Thus it appears that Luxess is truly effective in improving the condition of facial skin.

The author of the issue refers to a research study in which a group of people were asked to use new Luxess face cream after they have had washed their faces with a mild soap for one month. The author further recommends that as people participated in the study were immensely satisfied with the result of the Luxess cream it is efficacious to use this cream for improvements in skin condition. However, the recommendation can not be accepted because it relies on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable.

First of all the author does not indicate that how many people took part in the research study. As you know, the greater the number of people in the study, the more reliable and valid findings are. Maybe ten people participated in the study; hence, the results derived from this number can not be applied to a big group of people. In addition, even if it is assumed that enough people participated in the study, there is still other problems with the sample. In a research study, the findings can be generalized to the target population only if the sample is the representative of the population in all respects such as age, sex, and etc; however,in this argument there is no evidence to prove whether the sample is the representative of the target population.

Moreover, In matters germane to skin products other factors such as skin type is a vital component in determining the proper product for every individual. For example, oily skin and dry skin are to be nourished with divergent components. The study does not state anything about the skin type of people participated in the research study. In addition, the weather condition has dramatic effects on skin. Humid weather or cold and dry whether condition affect skin reactions to the skin creams.

Another striking problem is that the author refers to a mild soap that people used before applying Luxess cream but does not indicate what it is exactly and maybe the satisfaction of the cream relates to the soup and not the cream.

In sum, the recommendation of the author can not be taken to be correct, because as it was mentioned in body paragraphs, there is a number of assumptions to be considered and ambiguities to be clarified to show that the product is effective. The recommendation can be accepted only if the weaknesses referred to above are all removed.