A group of volunteers participated in a study of consumer responses to the new Luxess face cream. Every morning for a month, they washed their faces with mild soap and then applied Luxess. At the end of that month, most volunteers reported a marked improvement in the way their skin looked and felt. Thus it appears that Luxess is truly effective in improving the condition of facial skin.

The author refers to a study of consumer responses to the new luxess face cream and recommends that it is efficacious in improving the skin condition, however, the recommendation can not be accepted because there should be far more assumptions to be considered to prove that this product is useful for skin. In what follows these assumptions would be clarified.

First of all the author does not indicate that how many people took part in the research study. As you know, the greater the number of people in the study, the more reliable and valid findings are. Maybe ten people participated in the study; hence, the results derived from this number can not be applied to a big group of people. In addition, even if it is assumed that enough people participated in the study, there is still other problems with the sample. In a research study, the findings can be generalized to the target population only if the sample is the representative of the population in all respects such as age, sex, and etc; however,in this argument there is no evidence to prove whether the sample is the representative of the target population.

Moreover, In matters germane to skin products other factors such as skin type is a vital component in determining the proper product for every individual. For example, oily skin and dry skin are to be nourished with divergent components. The study does not state anything about the skin type of people participated in the research study. In addition, the weather condition has dramatic effects on skin. Humid weather or cold and dry whether condition affect skin reactions to the skin creams.

In sum, the recommendation of the author can not be taken to be correct, because as it was mentioned in body paragraphs, there is a number of assumptions to be considered and ambiguities to be clarified to show that the product is effective. The recommendation can be accepted only if the weaknesses referred to above are all removed.