Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

The argument suggests that protective gear will reduce the risk of injury for roller skaters because 75 percent of accidents were observed to be involving roller skaters with no protective equipment. This argument is found to be flawed in various ways, among which three stand out the most.

First, the argument assumes 75% to be a significant number. While 75% of 5,000 accidents is quite horrendous, two out of three injuries also entails the same result. Threrefore, the argument should put the statistic in perspective in terms of magnitude. Moreover, the benchmark needs to be defined as well. 75% might be a horrific indicator in some areas while it could be deemed acceptable in some others. For instance,

Second, the argument assumes that lack of protective gear is the only factor contributing to the injuries. Domain knowledge confirms that people excercise varying degrees of care depending on their risk tolerance. For this reason, some people tend to show more dangerous habits and behaviour while roller skating. And this is true of any sport in general. The argument fails to account for the changes among different individuals and hinges on protective gear as the only contributing factor to the reported injuries.

Last but not least, the argument concludes with a vague statement asserting that high-quality gear would greatly reduce the risk of svere injury. First of all, the report did not bring any mention of the gear quality; That is, the statistics merely indicate that people without gear are more susciptible to injuries and it does not necessarily distinguish between low-quality and high-quality gear. Second, what do we mean by greatly reduce? How great is great? Does a few percentage point reduction substantiate a big reduction in risk? What do we mean by risk to begin with? Third, the word severe needs definition as well. Is a small cut categorized in the same group as a fatality?

In summary, the argument presented was found to be weak and flawed due to various reasons detailed above, hence, it fails to establish a convincing tone in drawing its conclusion.