An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author has not mentioned any statistical records about the level of severity of this issue. There can be paucity of people actually suffering from Vitamin A deficiency. There is no statistics about the economical condition of population suffering. There is a good chance that the ones suffering from it will not be able to afford the new expensive millet also. Then the whole argument will prove out to be useless. Author need to provide more data about the people suffering from this deficiency with more specific and meaningful categorization.

One more aspect which can be considered about this deficiency issue is whether this problem is in only one part of nation or the whole of it. If this issue is concentrated at a particular location inside the country then preventive measure should be considered for that part only instead of complete nation paying for new millet. It will be like wasting the resources of a already indigent nation without any requirement in most of the parts.

Author has not mentioned anything about this international development organization. Is that organization authentic ? Whether this new millet is their new product or is it already tested somewhere else ? There is no relevant data provided about the company. One cannot trust a company for a national cause without any details about the company. There is a possibility that this company is a fraud and it is just making use of the poverty of this nation to make more profit. Also there is not data available about the effectiveness of millet. If this millet proves out to be ineffective then it will be a wastage of big amount of resources for nothing.

Author has commented about millet already being a staple food of Tagus, but that does not mean that people will accept it readily. There are many regional foods in every place which are not accepted or liked by mass of the population. Deciding the adoption of new millt based on this reason does not look like a good idea.

Government of Tagus have to test out this new millet in some affected regions and then only think about implementing this approach nation-wide. The claim of author is alluring but not very strong reasoned to accept.