An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the presented memo by an international development organization, a new breed of millet high in vitamin A will be instrumental in combatting vitamin A deficiency rampant in Tagus and, as such, the government should promote it. At first sight, the argument appears logical and the organization should be commended for its effort to tackle this important issue. Presented this way, however, the recommendation cannot be fully supported as it rests upon a few unwarranted assumptions. If the organization reviewed and adjusted this proposal in consideration of the points below, it would be able to make a more compelling case.

One of the shortcomings of this memo involves the assumption that farmers will decide to farm this new variety of millet if they are subsidized because the seeds are costly. Opponents can question whether this assumption holds true on the ground that there are other potential incentives at play for the farmers to make this decision. For instance, in Tangus, agriculture in general may be no longer a sustainable industry and a vast majority of farmers are more inclined to stop their agricultural business. Even if they are subsidized to farm this product, then, the farmers are possibly reluctant to undertake this new project. In this manner, as the proposal clearly hinges upon this unwarranted assumption, it would need to ensure that farmers will follow through as long as they are subsidized. Had the organization offered evidence to address this concern, the argument would be more convincing.

Another point of contention is the assumption that this new type of millet will grow in a similar manner to the existing millet. Critics can raise a question of whether the organization has tested and confirmed that Tangus has the climate and infrastructure sufficient to do so. Without answering this question, the argument cannot be valid as the new breed of millet may require a different set of conditions for growth that Tangus cannot simply provide at this juncture. For this proposal to have more validity, then, the organization would benefit from presenting relevant information to address this concern.

Finally, the organization makes yet another problematic assumption that people in Tangus will consume the new type of millet just because millet has been a staple food. This conclusion is far-fetched at best as there are other possible factors that contribute to the wide consumption of millet. To give an example, characteristics of millet such as taste, texture, price, or a combination of these may be the reason why people in Tangus consume millet as a staple food. However, from the memo alone, we do not know the new type has these qualities. Even if it does, furthermore, there is no evidence that these qualities are the determinant for the fact that millet is widely consumed. Hence, in order to better assess the feasibility of this proposal, the organization will need to provide information regarding this assumption.

To sum up, while the proposal is not entirely invalid, it fails to address the aforementioned key assumptions. If the organization does not respond to these concerns without relevant evidence, this laudable effort can turn out to be ineffective.