An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

The following are the questions that arises due to incompleteness of the provided argument.

It would have been better if the argument stated the effectiveness of the newly engineered millet. The whole discussion is mostly based on the efficacy of the product. Only if it can really improve the state of Tagus the government of Tagus will have to invest on promoting the millet.

Subsidy alone cannot promote the farmers to grow a new crop. The demand for the millet and market conditions and feasibility to sell it in the market also plays a key role in farmers decision to grow this crop. If demand and profit margin is high farmer will be promoted to grow the crop.

The fact that a millet is already a staple food in Tagus will not imply that the newly engineered millet will be readily accepted by the people of Tagus. The current millet selected as a staple will mostly full-fill the energy needs of the people and it may have lot of healthy benefits and be available for a low cost. The newly developed millet may not have a similar advantage as the current millet. Its important to consider other factors about the new millet apart from the fact that it can help in improving condition of Tagus by decreasing vitamin A deficiency.

Hence lot of factors have to be considered by the government before it can start promoting the new type of millet.