For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses

In the given argument, the author - the owner of the cheese stores located throughout the United States says that since the newest store in Wisconsin has domestic cheddar cheeses as their five best-selling kinds of cheese, the company should reduce the expenses by limiting the inventory and primarily focus on the domestic cheese rather than the imported ones to improve profits. While the author's decision seems biased and reaching towards the conclusion, he missed addressing pieces of information that can be relevant to take the decision.

Initially, the author says that the five best-selling kinds of cheese at the newest store located in Wisconsin were domestic cheddar cheeses. Here, the author infers that, if these domestic cheddar cheeses are the best selling in Wisconsin, they will prove to be best-selling in all the other locations of the United States. This is a very baseless conclusion and the author must further look into other possibilities. It is highly probable, that the people in other parts of the United States may prefer an imported cheese rather than the domestic cheese. If this happens to be true, then all the other stores whose best-selling cheeses are imported cheeses will definitely suffer a huge loss if as per the author's suggestion, the inventories are stocked up with domestic cheeses only. Therefore, the buying patterns of customers from different parts of the country should be considered.

Later on, the author says that a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Now, when the author mentions this, he overlooks the fact that the survey was taken by only the subscribers. The possibility that the customers of the Cheese stores have subscribed to this magazine is really low. We do not have any connection between the subscribers and the customers of the cheese stores. So, to rely on a survey of a magazine of which your customers may not even be a part of is highly risky and can't be used as a base to make a decision. Instead, the author should conduct a survey of his own in all the stores across the United States and know for himself what the customers from the different parts of the country have to say.

Moving forward, the author suggests that the company should reduce the expenses by limiting inventory. He says that the company should discontinue stocking the varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheese. While reaching this conclusion, the author doesn't address the points mentioned above. And discontinuing the stocking of imported cheese will impact the stores where imported cheese sales are high. Therefore, before making decisions in a hurry, the author should know the preference of his customers and not rely on magazine surveys.