Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

This argument tells us that Nature's Way chain of stores can open new store in Plainsville town and it will be successful. This conclusion based on numerous assumptions like there is no data presented that how many people of the town are attending health club and weight training and aerobics classes regularly. Good selling rate of running shoes and exercise clothes doesn't give any proof that people are also interested in healthy food and other health-related products. Authors surmised that if fitness-for-life program is mandatory for children than they will be potential customers for Nature's Way store.

Plainsville merchants report sales of running shoes and exercise clothes are high, from this information author assumes that people are also interested in healthy food and other health related products sold by Nature's Way store. There could be a possibility that Merchants reports show data for one particular season or year, not a average report of few years and sales was high because of some fitness program going on in the city or people are on vacation and have more time to spend on fitness activities which they might not continue or there might be many visitors came to city for vacation and they were buying fitness shoes and clothes because of which sales went up and it happens only in some months of the year, not whole year. Author mentions sales are high at all time, but there is no particular time frame mentioned.

As per argument local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are full. Author is assuming from this information is that Nature's Way store will sell more products as people are more aware about fitness actives. There is missing link between information provided in the argument and actor's assumption. Data is missing about attendance of club and class members. Are they attending club regularly or they just enrolled and not coming regularly. Club might have discounts for permotions going on and people enrolled in the club to avail this opportunity.

Author also assumes that if schoolchildren are require to participate in a fitness-for-life program then they are the potential customers of health products. It is possible that children are not interested in health activities, they are just doing to full program requirements and will not continue. This shows it can't be surmised that schoolchildren are the potential consumers.

According to above analysis, this argument is rife with assumptions which if false can weaken the argument. Survey needs to be conducted to understand the need of store in the city and to know more about health products and food consumers.