Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argument that Nature's way store in Plainsville town will be a success as the store tends to be more profitable in area where residents lead healthy lives. However, this argument is clearly rife with flaws as the various points suggested by the author to bolster the same are based on several unverified assumptions, which must be analyzed first to reach any conclusion.

First, author assumes that the healthy life style of the people is only variable in the equation of profit generated by the store. However, this may not be true. There can be numerous reasons for the success of store. For instance, if a town has high obesity rate then might be doctors even told people to go on healthy diet. In that case, the reason for profit of the store will be totally opposite.

Second, author categorize Plainsville to be one of the area where residents lead healthy life on the basis of sales of running shoes and exercise clothings and club membership of people. However, these facts cannot be taken as face value to justify anything. Running shoes and exercise clothings are sold in large number but the question is do people really use them and do exercise daily ? Is having running shoes and exercise suit means that people really use it daily and live a healthy lifestyle ? Also, author assumes that people since weight training and aerobics are full, so, people are have healthy style but it can be the case that maybe these classes and training are attended by only few people of Plainsville which is not even the 0.1 percent of town's population. Also, author doesn't mention anything about the town's population and how many trainings and aerobic classes happen in Plainville. If, the town population is humongous and out of them only few or say, very small fraction of people do exercise and aerobics daily, then apparently, we cannot say that the whole town lives a healthy life.

Furthermore, author's assumes that the schoolchildren are the potential customers as they have to participate in fitness-for-life program. Although, the program do underscore the importance of regular exercise at any early age, it in no way suggest these children to consume the health related products and health food. It can be possible that their parents might be reluctant to have their children to consume anything ranging from health supplement and food from outside and thus, prefers to have healthy diet at home only. If, it happens then obviously, in spite of the fact that more school children are doing exercises, they will not be inclined to buy products from outside.

To sum up, author's argument to set up the store in Plainsville is based on several assumptions which are not supported by any concrete evidence. Profits cannot be directly related to the people healthy lifestyle; there are several other variables in the equation as well. Also, facts presented above like sales of exercise clothing and shoes and other points presented are not sufficient to support the argument. More evidence is required to make argument more convincing.