A new discovery warrants a drastic change in the diets of people living in the United States. Two scientists have recently suggested that omega-3 fatty acids (found in some fish and fish oils) play a key role in mental health. Our ancestors, who ate less saturated fat and more polyunsaturated fat, including omega-3 fatty acids, were much less likely to suffer from depression than we are today. Moreover, modern societies - such as those in Japan and Taiwan - that consume large quantities of fish report depression rates lower than that in the United States. Given this link between omega-3 fatty acids and depression, it is important for all people in the United States to increase their consumption of fish in order to prevent depression.

According to the author in order to prevent depression in United States people should increase their consumption of fish. This is based on numerous theories linked together which are connected on the basis of lots of assumptions. Firstly a new discovery states that there is a drastic change in the diets of people living in United States. Also another study suggested that omega- fatty acids which is found in some fishes and fish oils play a important role in mental health. Our ancestors and some modern societies like Japan and Taiwan that consumed less saturated fat and more polyunsaturated fat and large number of fishes respectively were less likely to suffer from any mental health issues example depression. Now there is a link between omega-3 fatty acids and depression, the author is suggesting to eat more fish. This conclusion is based on interlinked theories and hence cannot be trusted as it contains a lot of flaws and is absurd.

Firstly the author compares the ancient life with the new modern life, In old time people suffered from depression less than today, the main reason behind that could be the life styles that people lived today and then and not because that they eat less saturated fat and more polyunsaturated fat. It is very well known to everyone that today's competitive world is leading to various health issues both mentally and physically and one of the biggest disease the current lifestyle has yielded is depression. Furthermore the author compares the lifestyle of countries like Japan and Taiwan to United States which is also not feasible since those two countries have their own ways of living and what applies to Japan or Taiwan must not be true for United States.

Also it must be noted that omega-3 fatty acids are found in fish and fish oils and it has a link with less depression, but this fact has not been clearly established to be true and thus we cannot say it for sure that if we consume omega-3 fatty acids it will help cure depression. Until and unless we cannot find the exact relationship between the fatty acids and depression, one cannot deny the fact the it is not wise to consume it. Just as anything consumed in excesses can have side effects there can be certain effects of the omega-3 fatty acids and we should complete study them and then induce a way using them to cure depression not by bluntly consuming fishes.

Furthermore there is a very big generalization that all people in United States should increase their consumption of fish in order to prevent depression, but the structure of each and every individual is different and it is very less likely that eating fish will help reduce it. For instance their is a child of 5 years and a person aged 35 years already suffering from depression, then for a 5 year old the chances of suffering from depression is very less no matter he eats fish or not while the 35 year old no matter what amount of fish he consumes he will still be suffering from depression until unless some proper medication is taken into account. Therefore we cannot generalize it that eating fish will help each and every person same way. Moreover there are people who doesn't eat meat or fishes and also people allergic to fishes. Hence we need to find some other solution to depression than just by eating fishes.

Hence the author's conclusion to cure depression is very vague and cannot be trusted until more researches are done. May be omega-3 fatty acids must be related to mental health but we need a perfect guide to how they cure depression and other mental problem and it should be based on scientific knowledge rather than using assumptions.