In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town,we should encourage.Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area.The Hillview landfill which has been undevelopped for decades is a perfect site for this plant.the building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousand of Hillview residents left unemployed after computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year.i am asking the city council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.-write an argument task.

The argument states that the Mayor of the city of Hillview is asking the City Council to launch a campaign that will attract the car manufacturing giant, Autotech. According to Mayor this will alleviate the unemployment problem in the town. Although this argument on the face of it seems attractive, there are many underlying assumptions whose authenticity seems to be dubious.

First, there is no reason mentioned for Hillview landfill beind undeveloped since decades. It might be possible that the landfill has issues with the underground drainage, because of which no work has been done on it. There is no reliability that this landfill will be appropriate for the car manufacturing process. Hence, it will be imprudent to take any further steps before doing a thorough investigation regarding the reason for the undevelopment of the landfill.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the Hillview residents were previously employed in a computer software programming company. Autotech, on the other hand, is a car manufacturing company. So, the kind of skills that they will be demanding will be very different from the skills for which the residents were employed before. And naturally, as Autotech is a car manufacturing company, it will be requiring employees who have skill related to manufacturing cars. So the idea of alleviation of umemployement due to Autotech is not very sound.

Also, rather than organizing campaign for Autotech and offering them tax incentives, the City Council should campaign for some other computer software programming company. This will be much more fruitful, as the software company will also be keen in coming to a place where there will be people who already posses the skills the comapny requires. Also, the residents will be getting a benefit, as they will not be required to learn any new skills. This will a faster and more effective way to alleviate the prevailing unemployment.

Therefore, it is evident from the above reasoning that the argument has many loopholes. It would have bolstered the argument if the assumptions regarding the landfill and residents' skills were stated clearly.