"Our poorest-selling magazine issues over the past three years were those that featured international news stories on their front covers. Over the same period, competing news-magazines have significantly decreased the number of cover stories that they devote to international news. Moreover, the cost of maintaining our foreign bureaus to report on international news is increasing. Therefore, we should decrease our emphasis on international news and refrain from displaying such stories on our magazine covers."

The author's claim that publishing international news on the front covers of the magaizne has resulted in significant decrease in the number of copies they sold. According to the author in past three years the poorest selling magazine were those magazines which featured international news stories on their front cover. Also he mentions that other competing news magazines have decreased the number of cover stories they devote to international news, so they should also decrease there emphasis on international news. This kind of conclusion is based on many assumptions which is not taken care and hence is quite absurd.

Firstly, the author assumes that reader is only intrested in reading the first page of the magazines and will not buy it if the cover page consists of foreign news stories which is untrue beacause not only the presence of that foreign story is responsible but the way the magazine is presented, the color, the size, font and other minute details matter because the reader will just take a glance at the magazine and decide to buy it or not and if the magazine looks attractive then it is high passuiblity that the magazine might get sold.Hence we cannot say that reader will reject the magazine if he finds a international news on the front even though the magazine looks very attractive.

Also, its a vague generlization that they should their emphasis on international news and refrain from displaying such stories on their magazine covers which might get contradicted when any international affair is so big that a large number of mass is intrested to read it. For example during the US president election every Indian newspaper displayed Trump's news and each one was intrested to read it. In such cases the magazines sell will be poor and the result will be the same.

Another assumption that the author made was that only international news is responisble for selling magazines, if we have a news paper with a national news and a grammatical error and a magazine with international yet well written news then it seems quite an obivious choice that the magazine with international news will be sold more than the one with national news and also it is assumed that the reader only takes the magazine for reading of its first page but it is also untrue and the context inside and on other pages also matter and not just the cover page.

Therefore it can be very well concluded that not just the front cover is important and decresing on international news and refraining to display will increase the sell of the magazine.