"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

Many business owners within the Central Plaza believe that reducing and banning the popularity skateboarding will increase the number of shoppers that has been on a steady decline for two years. Within this declaration are several assumptions and inclinations that are stated but do not possess any evidence in support of their claims.

The first sentence claims that there has been a steady decrease in the number of shoppers at the Central Plaza. It is not clear, however, how the author conducted the measurement of the decrease in shoppers. For example, was there a survey given out to shoppers or was it conducted using the opinion of business owners. The author could have compared the revenue of all businesses observing that there was a decrease from year to year. In addition, is this decreasing in shoppers a large amount and will it have a detrimental effect on businesses or is subtle. Without clearly stating how the author established that there is a decrease in shoppers, this claim cannot back the author’s argument.

By having the city ban skateboarding at the Central Plaza, the author suggests that the level of shoppers will increase to prior levels. Again, the author provides no evidence on how the increase in skateboarding has affected the decrease in shoppers. Reduction in shoppers may be due to external reasons. For example, the decrease in shoppers may be the result of online shopping or the litter and vandalism throughout the Plaza. Many people find it more convenient to shop online within their own homes with the added free shipping many companies provide now. Shoppers also appreciate a clean, safe environment for themselves and their families.

If these assumptions prove unwarranted, then there is a chance for the Central Plaza to lose more shoppers after banning skateboarding. Often at times, providing a clean, safe environment will add to the value of a business, which could then lead to the increase of shoppers. The assumptions provided by the author are unlikely that the increase in popularity of skateboarding has been the source of the decrease in shoppers and will be unable to persuade the city in banning the recreation from the Plaza.