"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The store owner concludes that the deteriorating business in Central Plaza is due to the increase in litter and vandalism within the plaza, resulting from the increased skateboard users within the premise. However, the author’s argument is full of assumptions without any evidence to prove its point.

In order to validate the author’s claim, the first question needed to be asked is whether the decreased number of shoppers in Central Plaza was really a consequence of the increased skateboarders. It could be that during the past 2 years there is a declining economy and therefore shoppers were spending less and saving more. Moreover, there is no mention of shop prices. There could be an overall increase in store prices in Central Plaza, therefore leading to shoppers switching to a new place and hence the decreased in business. If any of these were the case then it would undermine the authors claim that that the decline in business was due to skateboarders, and thus prohibiting skateboarding would not solve the problem.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the increase in litter and vandalism within the plaza was due to skateboarders, and this added fact also explains the decrease in Central Plaza shoppers. However, the author fails to provide any hard evidence that this increase was actually due to skateboarders within the plaza. The litter could have been caused by regular shoppers and not skateboards themselves. If proven true, banning skateboarders would not be of any help to the store owners. The argument provided by the author fails to answer the question whether skateboarders in Central Plaza are customers themselves? If yes, then banning skateboarders would further decrease business in the plaza.

Overall, the author’s proposition to questions ban skateboarders would not improve their business if all the problems the author suggested was not due to skateboarders in the first place. The author needs to first answer the mentioned above in order to validate his claims.