"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

According to argument, number of shoppers in Central Plaza decreased due to increased popularity of skateboarding in the Plaza. Which also increased liter and vending in plaza. Thus, it is recommended that if city will prohibit skateboarding in plaza, it will return business to its previous high levels. This argument has certain loop holes. There is no evidence presented to relate increase in skateboarding with decrease in business, how shoppers are getting effected by skateboarding, how business will be back to high levels by prohibiting skateboarding in plaza.

First assumption in this argument is that shoppers are not able to shop because of increased skateboarders in the Central Plaza. There could be a possibility that shoppers doesn’t want to shop in the Plaza, there may be new Plaza opened in the city which have new shops and shoppers are shopping in the new plaza. There might be economic crisis in the city, and shoppers doesn’t want to shop much.

Second assumption is that decrease in business is only because of skateboarders. It is not mentioned in the argument that weather business is trying their best to attract the customers. There could be possibility that customer of plaza business is not good or there is no new designs are coming in the shops and customers are getting bored of seeing same type designs and styles and they don’t want to shop more in the plaza.

There is also a assumption that if city will prohibit skateboarders in the Central Plaza that will increase the business. There might be a possibility that some young shopper come for shopping using skateboards. If skateboarding stopped in the plaza, business might lose those shoppers. It is assumed that only Skateboarders have increased litter and vandalism throughout the Plaza. There might be possibility that before litter was there in the plaza also, but with the skateboarders its getting spread. Which infers that skateboarders may not be sole responsible for increasing litter.

As there are above weaknesses in the argument, it can’t be concluded that prohibiting skateboarding will give business hikes. More surveys and analysis is needed find the reasons why there are less shoppers in the Plaza.