“Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.”

While it may be true that the shoppers for the central plaza have been decreased dramatically, the author here doesn’t show a clear relation between increase and decrease of the shoppers.as skateboarding is a sport and it can’t be compared with the decrease in the shoppers at the central plaza. This argument doesn’t have a proper stand.

Looking at the decrease in the shoppers, we can say there might be a chance of stores near by the city plaza having much more attractive goods then the central plaza has. There might have been a considerable increase in the completion between the malls by new malls coming up which wasn’t stated about. Does it have all new stock or is there any damage or old stock which is making the sales go down. Are the owners coming up with trendy stock which helps the shoppers get attract easily. Due to these reasons there is a chance of shoppers preferring so other place to shop then this.

While it comes to the litter and vandalism is it sure that the litter and vandalism are only due to the skateboards? The people coming for the skateboard might also be a cause for the litter in the central plaza, there is equal chance of this happening if the same people come for the shopping in the central plaza. Skateboard as mentioned above comes under a sport which can’t be compared with the stores present in the mall. The skateboard is anyways making the customers to come to the central plaza but the store owners are unable to manage and get them shop, which clearly shows the inability of the management of the stores.

Building upon is it sure that the rest of the things which are to be done are been done in the same way as earlier. For example, we do not know whether the advertising of the stores to the people in the city is done in the same way as earlier which might affect the sales dramatically keeping all this in mind we can say the author has made an argument without proper information and assumption considered.

Adding, to this the central plaza after prohibiting the skateboards is not sure to get back the previous state and moreover it might also loose the few shoppers coming up due to the skateboards. However, the author’s argument doesn’t seem to be appealing and persuasive to get the skateboards prohibited in the city at central plaza.