Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author concludes that there is need to reschedule the time alotted to weather and local news to attract more viewers and stop declining the advertisement revenue. Since past one year, the television station is devoting more time to broadcast national news and much lesser time to weather and local news. The author 's line of reasoning is that the local business have cancelled the contract with us due to decrease in the number of viewers of the program. However, the author fails to provide any vital evidence on decline of viewers by national news program. This argument is not convincing for various reasons.

First of all, to attract more viewers to program, is based upon the assumption that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will increase the consumption of the program. Moreover, complaints have been raised by the viewer concerning about the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, it is entirely possible that the complaint is not about the time devoted but can also be about the data of the information or the authenticity or the way which it is presented.Also, the author fails to provide enough evidence on why the viewers increase in late night shows by devoting more time to local and weather news.

Finally the author uses Future past flaw. It is something that happens in past would necessarily be true in future. The author claims that increasing time for weather and local news would increase the number of viewers of the program and avoid lossing advertisment contract. Yet the author does not provide any statistical data to prove his point.

In sum, the argument is defective mainly because the author feels that restoring the program station to what it was before a year, will improve the situation. Hence it does not support the conclusion that the viewers of the program increases and local bussinesses will continue to contract with station.To strengthen the argument, the author must, at very best, provide new ways in which the programs enhances the engagement of the viewers.