"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument concludes that the television station will retreat from its current schedule to previous one to gain its former popularity but the reasons cited here are not very much cogent to be accepted. It neglects certain facts to be considered such as number of viewers and proportion of complaints or other reasons behind the cancellation of advertisement contracts.

Firstly, the argument doesn't reveal the average number of watchers of late-night program. It only reveals that most of complaints are regarding to station's coverage of weather and local news but it nowhere indicates that people are complaining against the increased time to national news. It may be the case that the authencity or quality of local and weather news are not upto the satisfaction of the viewers. So, only improvement in casting local and weather news may avert the untoward situation.

Secondly, even if we consider that increased time in national news has vexed the viewers, the argument doesn't disclose the proportion of complaints. If a few proportions of watchers are annoyed by the matter then restoring the time scheduled for weather and local news of its former level due to appease them may cause annoyance in others. So, without proper investigation and analysis it is not shrewd idea to restore its previous schedule.

Lastly, the argument infers that local businesses cancelled their contracts with the station due to increased time to national news. But the reason is not quite logical. As it may be the case that those business partners have found more profitable contracts than the existing one.

Thus the argument provides very little convincing reasons to bolster the stated conclusion of shifting to devote more time in weather and local news in late-night program.