Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with out stations's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The argument above tries to somehow relate the dwindling numbers of viewership and revenues of the news station with the content presented in its late-night news program.

To start off with, the business manager quotes an increased proportion of duration devoted to national news and a consequent reduction in the other two aspects, namely, the weather and local news.

To strengthen this argument, the manager would require an analyst to dig up information from shows over the last year and calculate the average time devoted to national news, local news and weather news. After comparing these numbers with the previous years' numbers, the manager could safely establish his initial argument related to increased times for national news.

Without this information, it could be possible that the manager is basing his views on a few shows that he has watched over the last year that contained more national news compared to local and weather news. It could be very much possible that, on those specific instances, there was a lot more information that needed to be presented on a national level as compared to local and weather news. It could also be possible that the news reporters fared poorly in restricting the national news to the prescribed durations and stretched it by a decent margin, and subsequently reporting condensed versions of local and weather news.

Secondly, the manager hasn't specified the total number of complaints over the last year. To strengthen his viewpoint, he needs to specifiy the percentage of complaints pertaining to coverage of weather and local news along with the total number of complaints. It is possible that there have been very complaints. The manager also has to question the authenticity of the source of complaints. He needs to answer if the complaints were turned in by viewers who regularly watch the news station's channel. It would seriously weaken the argument if there were very few complaints or if they had been written by viewers who haven't watched most of the late-night news show over the last year.

Thirdly, the manager cites cancellations of existing ad contracts but never mentions if they've been replaced by fresh contracts from other businesses. Also, there is no evidence suggesting a reduced viewership which, if had actually reduced, might have solidified his argument concerning cancellation of ad contracts.

Additionally, there could be other problems with the news channel which might have gone unnoticed due to which the contracts could have been cancelled. Ad contracts' success is determined by the conversions generated by the viewership. It could be possible that the viewers were not interested in the products or services being advertised.

Finally, the manager could've mentioned the change in the number of viewers over the last years, which is crucial in determing if the changes in the time devoted to specific content have brought in a positive or negative tilt, before restoring the changes.