Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The given argument is most likely based on the assumption that viewers as well as the advertizers would prefer the TV station to telecast more of local and weather news as compared to national news. The business manager is drawn to make this assumption because of the empirical evidence that advertizers have cancelled their contracts and a fraction of the viewers (the complainants) are not satisfied with the channel's local and weather news coverage. To establish the correctness of this argument, one needs to dig deeper to look for reasons that could give rise to the two happenings i.e. complaints about local and weather news coverage and cancellation of advertizing contracts.

Let's consider the complainants first. It must be noted by the business manager that the complainants form only a subset of the viewers of the channel and not the whole viewership. It is quite possible that a number of viewers would actually be more satisfied with the greater national news being covered. But since, positive feedback is seldom recieved as opposed to complaints, the opinion of those viewers is not visible to the business manager in the feedback they have received. So, the first evidence that is required is the opinion of the viewership about the likeability of the national news coverage.

Moreover, the nature of the complaint (about the local and weather news) needs to be delved into. The complainants might be more concerned about quality of the local news rather than the quantity (the amount of time devoted to it). Hence, the proposed solution i.e. restoring the time of local news to its former level might not help if the viewers are concerned about its quality. The quality of local news as percieved by the viewers comprises the second evidence to evaluate the argument.

Now coming to the advertizers, though the business manager is tempted to correlate the cancellation of advertizing contracts by local businesses to the complaints about the local news coverage, this is surely not the sole factor that could have led advertizers to commit this action. Since the advertizers are all local businesses, any regional economic trend could have affected their revenues in a negative way and as one of the austerity measures, they might have decided to cut down their advertizing expenses. Another possibility is the availability of better advertizing options like print media, social media, etc., which might be turning out to be more effective for advertizers. So, it needs to be ascertained that the cancellation of advertizing contracts is linked to the complaints by the local viewers and that it is not just a coincidence.

So, to concude the veracity of the argument, a multitude of investigations and evidences are needed from the extended viewership of the channel. In addition, the financial condition of local advertizers as well as their affinity to other modes of advertisement needs to be figured out before taking any step regarding the changes in the duration of the telecast.