A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument, it was concluded pointedly that the food company was not responsible for the symptoms experienced by certain pets which contained its products, and hence should not allocate further resources to the investigation. While any business would not want to get involved in any investigation that may jeopardize its brand or productivity, the said food company may well have a good arguments if the following assumptions are tenable.

It was stated in the statement that 4 million pounds of food was recalled in response to some complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy among other symptoms. Hence, to say that the food company was not responsible for the sickness felt by the pets would mean to assume that the complaints received were not representative enough of the total number of pets that consumed the food products. Also, it must also be the case that the number of pets that experienced such signs of illness did so for other reasons other than the food. It might be the case that complaints came from a certain region where an epidermic broke out which had adverse effects on the pets within that area.

Furthermore, if it is true that the pet food company tested the samples from the recalled food and discovered that all chemicals found in the food were approved for pet food, then certain assumptions must hold true for the food company to be exculpated. First, the procedure used in testing the recalled food were not biased. Even more,the chemicals found in the food are not just approved for pets use by they are also in the right proportion. Thus, it must not be the case that there was production defect or that certain chemicals were applied in excess which may have caused the symptoms in the pets.Again,it must also be the case that not only were the chemicals in the right proportion but also they were not expired as at the time they were applied in the production of the foods. Not only that, it should be true that food samples did not contain any harmful or counterfeit chemicals or additives.

Ultimately, if the assumptions stated hitherto hold true-that the were other conditions responsible for the sickness of the pets other than the pet foods, that the procedure followed during the testing of the recalled foods was objective, that the chemicals used for the foods were indeed appropriate, original,in the right proportion, and devoid of other extraneous additives-then food company will have a watertight argument to exculpate itself.