A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's argument states that 4 million pounds of pet food has been recalled in response to the complaint that after consuming the food pets have experienced vomiting and many other signs of illness. It also states that they have tested the sample and found that it is not responsible for all the above symptoms hence the company is not further devoting any resources on the investigation. According to me there are many fallacies in the argument stated by the author. These flaws are stated in the following paragraphs.

Author states that company tested the samples, but no evident information is been provided whether the test was correct or not. There might be situation that the test being conducted is flawed. No name of a established firm is mentioned which authorizes that the test was significant enough so that we can reckon it. Hence this point of the author is not justified.

In addition,it is also stated that all the chemicals determine in the test are the ones which are approved for use in pet food,hence they are not responsible. But the proportion in which they were present in the pet food is not mentioned. It might be possible that all chemicals present were pertinent but they are not present in apposite proportions, which leads to signs of illness in the pets. Hence this claim is not at all justified.

Moreover,it is stated that 4 million pounds of pet food is recalled and that is only tested. This might be possible that this pet food might be called from a particular state and the defected products are in some other states. Hence without investigating further samples from different states one cannot lucidly claim that symptoms are not because of company's pet food. Hence further investigation is required on few more samples from all different states.

At the end I will say, more pertinent and statistical data is required to justify the argument of the author.Provided data is not sufficient enough to reckon. Hence the claims provided are completely unjustified and flawed.