The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century old tradition of all female education and begin admitting men Pointing to other all female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

The presented recommendation made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College to the college's governing committed aims to recommend that the college conserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. The argument is based on evidence pertaining to the survey of faculty members, students, and the alumnae and the anticipated result of the coeducation. It might be logical at first glance, however, the author of the recommendation should answer several questions related to its grounds.

To begin with, the author mentions that the majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. It seems like that the author also agree with the reasoning that coeducation can bring more students, nonetheless, it seems questionable that if the college permit men to admit, the more students are warranted. If it can not result in bringing more students into the college, the author can successfully counter the survey and the result of the survey cannot be used as a ground of opposing the all-female policy. Thus, the author should answer the question: Is there a causal relation between coeducation and more admission?

Secondly, the author presents the result of other surveys: the students and the alumnae to undergird to the argument. Although the author thinks the representativeness and validity of the surveys are guaranteed, however, the author should provide more information related to cited surveys. Even if 80 percent of the students and over half of the alumnae disagree with the coeducation policy, it is unwarranted without the information related to the total number of respondents, what questionnaires are, and how it is conducted. If there is a sample bias and unbalanced questionnaires, the author might not use the results of the surveys.

Lastly, the author argues that preserving the all-female policy will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. However, there is no appropriate evidence to prove the causal relationship between morale among students and the all-female education. Without any valid surveys or researches, the author cannot ignore the possibility of the opposite of the argument: coeducation will improve students' morale. In addition, it is not sure how much the alumnae support the finance of the college. Even if the alumnae support the college because of the policy, even it might not be true, the author should prove the amount and percentage of the alumnae's support. If the amount expected to be earned by coeducation outweighs the amount of alumnae's support, it might be better to forsake the tradition.

In sum, the author wants to assert the preservation of all-female education is good for the college and students, it is not enough to evaluate the author's argument. In order to fully evaluate the author's claim, the author should give answers pertaining to the accurate information of cited surveys, and the causal relationship between the coeducation and expected results.