The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

The presidents of Grove College suggest that college, unlike its old tradition, must admit men to study there because coeducation increases the college’s enrollments. Nevertheless, the director of the alumnae disagree with this plan because he think the main factor of this college is full-female. In addition, two surveys show that all incoming students and most alumnae disagree with this plan. Scrutiny each of these factors, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, base on the fact that coeducation was a successful in other all-female colleges, the president infers that it can be useful in this college. Nonetheless, he ignore that it is entirely possible most students choose this college because the college all female, so coeducation can cause them to change their decision. In addition, this suggestion can lead students to leave college. Without considering this scenario, the faculty members cannot justifiably conclude that coeducation increase the students of the college.

Second, the director claims that students select this college for study only because it is full female. However, it is entirely possible the college offers high funds, so many students select here for study. In addition, the college may hired high educated teachers, which have a apparent role on attract students. In short, if the director of the alumnae ignores all effective factors in this matter, I can not take the director’s idea seriously.

In the third place, a serious of problems with the director’s claim arises with the scant statistical information on which it stands. The director of the alumnae claim that most incoming student select this college because it is full female, while all these students are female. Hence, a survey’s respondents cannot be representative of overall population of students. Moreover, the number of alumnae who took part in the survey my was too low to ensure that majority of alumnae disagree with coeducation.

In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing. To strengthen the argument, the director of the alumnae most provide statistical information that the survey’ reflects of the general population. In order to evaluate the recommend, we need to know about all possible causes that student like to study in Grove College.