The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the director of alumnae association contends that Grove College should keep the tradition of all-female education instead of coeducation. Though this argument underlie the fact that there are surveys showing preference for keeping all-female tradition among both the students and alumnae, these surveys have some unanswered questions to be clarified. The reasons are as follows.

In the first place, according to a survey of incoming students in Grove College, students prefer to the all-female education which is their major motivation to select the Grove College. However, can this survey show more advantages in all-female education? It is because of this all-female policy that only female students could be qualified as incoming students. Therefore, they would undoubtedly approve of the policy. However, even without this policy, there will be other more students such as male students and female students who don't care about this. Without showing more evidence to prove that coeducation policy would decrease the students' application, the director cannot convince us of not changing the tradition of all-female policy.

Then, in another survey, most of respondents support to keep the all-female policy. However, is it possible that the number of respondents are so small that it cannot represent the whole preference of the alumnae? For example, this survey might be conducted during internet and most of the alumnae might ignore this survey because of their busy career. Small amount of respondents in the survey won't be scientific enough to draw a conclusion. Meanwhile, these respondents might be someone who have spare time, so they might have a relaxed life with no extra money to financially support the Grove College. Therefore, their preference won't be necessary for the Grove College to make a decision. The director cannot conclude that school should not change their policy based on this survey, unless he or she provide enough evidence to answer the above question.

Finally, even if the above questions are answered by the director, is it possible that the changing the policy would be more beneficial compared with some disadvantages? For example, although most students in the Grove College now would disapprove of changing the policy, coeducation would attract more male students and other female students. Furthermore, the collaboration of male students and female students would make a difference during the education. For example, when they are learning physics and they need to finish some experiments. With the help of male students, female students could save energy and learn more knowledge during the process.

In sum, the director did not answer these questions, which is essential to prove the accuracy of this argument. To better assess the argument, the arguer should provide more scientific evidence about the disadvantages of coeducation and present more detailed information about these two surveys.