In a recent citywide poll, fifteen percent more residents said that they watch

television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five

years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s art

museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that

supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now

being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s art

museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting

the arts should be reallocated to public television

The argument is stating that some of the city's fund should be reallocated to public televisions programs as corporate funding that support public television is now being threatened with severe cuts. Reason for this argument is that cuts may impact the attendance at city's art museums because according to survey there is a similar percentage increase in number of viewers of visual arts programs on television and the number of people visiting the city's art museums in past five years, hence author is assuming that decrease in television viewers will impact attendance at city's art museum. Author of the argument has not provided any reason to substantiate the claim that there is direct correlation between people who are watching and people who are going to the museum. It might be the case that more people are watching visual arts program because of motivation after visiting the museum or nowadays there are no other good programs aired on the televison and there are no recreational activities except going to the museums.

First of all, author has not provided any data to affirm that increase in visual arts program led to increase in people attendance at the museum. It might be other way around, just because there is increase in percentage of people watching arts program and people visiting the museum, it cannot be concluded that there is correlation between these two increased percentage. So, author has to first include some questions in the survey about the reason for increased interest to extrapolate why more people are watching visual arts and why more people are visiting the museum. Without this data this claim is dubious and not persuasive.

Secondly, increased attendance at city's museum might have caused increased percentage of people watching visual arts program. Usually, after seeing some arts works people get motivated to learn more about it and their interest in that particular field is increased and because of this reason there is increased percentage of people who are watching the arts programs. So, if city decides to allocate funds from arts to public television then it might impact the number of people visiting the museum as decreased funds might lead to closing of some museums or their facilities, hence less people visting the museum. This suggestion of allocating funds to public television will decrease people attendace at museums instead of increasing it.

Thirdly, this survey doesn't list data about each year. It might be the case that this increased percentage is just a short lived hype because of some new artwork in the museum and some famous actress program being aired. So, author should look at granular data of this survey and also take into account the current situation such as is there any famous celebrity's program of visual arts being aired or is there any new famous painting that currenty came to city museum. Just looking at five years data and coming to a rossy conclusion is unfounded.

Hence, without taking into account all the different viewpoints, this claim is not warranted. Author should first try to find correlation between these two different increase in percentage of residents watching visual arts television and attendance of museum, should also look at more granular year wise data, and negative impact of reallocating city's fund for supporting the arts before coming to a sound and convincing conclusion.