Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument provided, the author alleges that there is a significant reduction in the Madagascan shrimp population due to the incursions of deep-sea fishermen. Even though the breeding season is fast approaching there will not be an increase in the levels of shrimp according to the author. Due to the above stated claims the author states that Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species. Though the argument seems ligitimate, there are many flaws and unstated assumptions upon which the author rests his statements.

Firstly, the author alleges that there has been a recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen which has lead to a reduction in shrimp population. However, supporting evidence for that statement was not provided. The reduction might have happened due to some ecological changes or because of oil spill from a leaked ship which is travelling around that area. There is no soild correlation between the incursion of fishermen and the reduction of species. Had the author provided the connection between the action and the cause, it would have been a valid point.

There is another point in the argument that as the breeding season is approaching the number of shrimp should increase. However, one cannot just state a claim based on single reason. There might be higher number of shrimps which are dying due to ecological imbalance and the number of shrimp breeding are far less compared to the ones which are moribund. There is no statement which substantiates or rejects this point in the arugment.

In addition to that, the author claims that the species will quickly be considered as endangered species because of the practices of deep-sea fishermen. There will be a certain threshold limit under which a species is considered as engendered. Even though the number of Madagascan shrimp might reduce at one area, there might be burgeoning of species at another. In addition to that, the number of speices which are currently present as well as the rate in which there is a waning of the species is also not provided which would bolster the author's claim.

The population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived according to the author. But, the time in which the fishing boats usually arrive was not provided. Is it during the season when the breeding is fast or other season? Any proof for such claim has not been made by the author.

In conclusion, the author must have provided the interconnection between the reduction of species and the activities of deep-sea fishermen, proof for the claim that there would be an increase in the number of shrimp due to the breeding season, the number and the rate of decrease of the population and the season in which the fishing boats usually arrive in order to make his argument a cogent one.