"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The author reaches the conclusion that under stimulating situations, first born monkeys produce twice as much hormone cortisol compared to their younger siblings. The argument with which the author reaches their conclusion is around the perception that birth order impacts the production levels of hormone cortisol. While the body maybe produce higher levels of hormones due to various reasons, the authors argument that the higher levels are due to birth order is incorrect. The authors failed to take into consideration variables that can greatly impact the specimens’ reactions and therefor increase the bodily production of hormones, like the parental role older monkeys assume with younger sibling and environmental emotions.

First of all, the authors failed to take into account that while birth order may have played a role in the increased levels of hormones, it was not due to the reason of increased in hormone levels. Older monkeys can play the parental role when in the presence of younger siblings. It is a natural behavior for older versions of any life form to take that responsibility in situations in order to shield their younger family members from potential threats or harm.

Furthermore, the authors declined to specify if both samples of monkeys, both the older and younger, we subject to similar conditions prior to the testing. Any slight variation in the environment may have changed the psychological outlook on the samples. Different variations in environments lead to different illustrations of emotions. Perhaps the older monkey prior to testing was placed on a different treatment throughout the day. These variables however slight will alter emotional reactions in any life form.

However, based on the assumptive conclusion of birth order being the primary indicator for increased levels in hormone, if more variable information was provided perhaps their conclusion would be correct. The author could have mentioned how many different monkey sets were utilized in order to reach this conclusion. The number of sets would also need to represent an adequate sample size to support these conclusions. Ultimately, the authors' lack of evidence fails to support their argument and conclusion in respect to many variables that could influence the outcome of the test scenario.

In conclusion, it can be determined that while testing was performed to see if first born monkeys had higher levels of hormone, the results were inaccurately assumed. The author needed to perform many more variations of sample testing support the birth order argument.