A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The recent studies includes the experimentation done on a single species of a monkey, and its correlation to human which is not firm, hence produces a flaw to accept. The hormones responsible for respective activities might be a sub-part or not considerably the main constituent contributing to the higher levels of response in all the species. The stimulating conditions, though might appear congruent, but the surroundings, the demeanor of species differ considerably.

The study on monkeys necessarily cannot be accurate to lay inferences on humans. For example, the gestation periods in humans and various species of monkeys vary, so does the amount of hormones secretion with the pregnancy stage. The first born infant are the primogenitures of their generation’s family. They have a natural tendency to possess fear for their siblings. A firstborn infant’s mortality should not affect this natural tendency of the next born, as this gets assimilated with time after their birth. The levels of cortisol are naturally build rather than pre-birth production.

A pre-birth mortality would also arouse anxiety of a mother bearing the second child after the first pregnancy’s failure. This creates a profound doubtable questions against the theory made by this study which claims the higher levels of cortisol’s production only in first-time pregnancy mother.

The underlying genetics which deals with traits drawn from ancestors, can limit this study’s inference to the rhesus monkey itself. The release of similar hormones to exhibit such traits, can be qualified only to monkeys. Moreover, the surroundings and conditions they live can contribute the production levels. As far the monkeys or any other animal in a real world, give away response more realistically, than one who are carefully fed and studied in labs with pleasant environment. The experimented monkeys get adapted to the labs conditions and safety, that they are no more anxious enough.

Any individual exposed to a harsh and disastrous environment, espouses to act and defends to jump out of the black-hole safely. The plumb of a particular hormones release depends on the extent of stimulating conditions. The harsher and sudden, the greater the production. In rare cases, the calmness and patience among individual under such a calamity is required, thus the production of cortisol diminishes. Such inferences could be made if the study lacks acuteness and flexible correlations. Thus, it draws out vague conclusions and arises dubious questions which are unanswered by a qualifying study.