A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The author’s argument does not make a cogent case for the relationship between the birth order and the hormone cortisol on rhesus monkeys and humans. While his ideas seem to make sense at first glance, there are various assumptions that weaken the argument. The following paragraphs describe three of the most important issues.

To begin with, the study that supports the suggested conclusions is based on only eighteen rhesus monkeys. Clearly, this limited sample may not be representative enough to draw conclusions about all the members of this specie of primates and, even less, about the human being. In addition, the quantity of variables that play a role in the level of cortisol considered in this study is unknown. The lack of these parameters (if case), could have unconsciously led to scientist to come up with the stated conclusion.

Another important assumption the author based on his argument is that the sample of eighteen monkeys includes a wide variety of siblings of different ages. It may be possible that the significantly higher cortisol generated in older siblings during stimulating situations is due to the difference in nourishment habits they have. In other words, the study may be comparing “teenager” monkeys with recently born ones, two members that can be differentiated in various aspects apart from the birth order. We simply do not know from the given information.

The argument gets even weaker when it associates the findings on monkeys with humans being. While the author mentioned a considerable difference in hormone cortisol in rhesus monkeys, he also suggests “relative high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations” when it comes to people. It would be necessary, at least, to know how much is the difference of the observed cortisol hormone and how many individuals conformed the sample.

Last but not least, the study revealed a higher level of cortisol in first-time mother monkeys during pregnancy period. While this could be a strong support, it is not clear whether or not this hormone can be taken after mothers. Besides, once again a larger sample of monkeys should be studied to strengthen this theory.

In conclusion, this study main issue is the limited number of monkeys and people that were studied, which weakens every suggested theory. To make this study reliable, a comprehensive survey should be performed on thousands of rhesus monkeys and people, including different potential variables other than the birth order, such as habitat, food, and degree of activity.