"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly states that studies have shown that hormone cortisol increase in infant monkeys when they encounter with unfamiliar or stimulating circumstances. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious.

First, the author contends that study on eighteen monkeys represent that cortisol hormone increase in firstborn monkeys. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is possibility that outcomes of this research do not be accurate. Indeed, eighteen number of monkeys is not a large number because in order to gain an exact result, the research should be done in large size. It is also important to note that increase hormone in infant monkeys have produced in a same situation. What if these monkeys encounter with completely different situation. Indeed, we do not know for sure the rate of stimulation.

The author also attributes that in stimulation condition cortisol increase and in this way, the level of activity will rise up. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some detects. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that we do not know for sure that in what extent the level of cortisol hormone were increased. Also, there is no information or data, which in what ways the level of activity has increased. Alongside that, there is no guarantee that cortisol hormone were measured accurately.

Finally, as set forth by the author first-time mother monkeys during pregnancy have higher level of cortisol hormone than those mothers, which had multiple births. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to the fact that the author do not provide any information or statistics about the measurement of cortisol in pregnancy mothers. The possible scenario is that the pregnancy situation could have be different in monkey mothers. Indeed, the author does not mention accurate data about the level of cortisol hormone during pregnancy. Moreover, the author do not properly identify the birth order of the monkeys.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption the presence of which could strengthen the author claim.