"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

As mentioned in the argument a recent studies of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues of birth order on an individual’s level of stimulation i.e. firstborn infants to their younger siblings and pregnant mother monkeys to other female monkeys. Argument is purely created on some clues by studying eighteen rhesus monkeys that’s it; there is no mention of studies of eighteen rhesus monkeys including pregnant mother monkeys, female monkeys, first born infants and their younger siblings. Argument must have come up with some authentic and clear studies which can bolster the facts presented.

Argument states that effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation yet there are no facts presented about studies and results obtained by studying first born infants and their younger siblings. The study must include the statistics of stimulation levels of first born infants and their younger siblings in different situations like during conversing with elder known ones and strange ones; so that actual facts may clearly strengthen the argument.

Second point in the argument that firstborn infants creates twice as much the hormone cortisol during stimulating situations like encounter with unfamiliar monkeys; which primes their body for increase in activity levels than their younger siblings. The encounter with unfamiliar monkeys clearly do not present exact idea, like before fighting or during fighting or after fighting or just when unfamiliar monkeys are in sight. Also in case of encounters with other species of monkeys or other animals, the statistics of amounts of stimulation levels must be presented.

The argument includes one additional point about firstborn humans. But there is no further explanation and relation of stimulation of cortisol of firstborn humans and firstborn rhesus monkeys. The author says that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of stimulating situations with example of return of parents after absence but this example does not seem supportive for the argument. Amounts of levels of cortisol in such situations and in situations when firstborn humans interact with unknown humans are not stated so somewhat this argument looks redundant. Instead of giving supportive study of firstborn humans, study of hormone cortisol stimulation in firstborn monkeys when they interact with their parents after long time could have supported argument more prominently. More experiments and results in each case may provide facts which eventually can support the argument.

Argument adds the point of hormone cortisol levels of pregnant mother monkeys are greater than when they are offspring. But this argument is supported by any experimental results or examples. Comparing pregnant mother with pregnant monkeys does provide support for the argument. Also the cortisol levels of pregnant mother monkeys when interacts with other monkeys of same or different species or the simple comparison of levels of hormone cortisol between them may present some facts through which the support for the argument will be clearer. First-time mother monkeys have higher levels of hormone cortisol during pregnancy, then what about other times or other pregnancies. More authentic research on this point will lead to facts which will support the argument.

This argument just states the results obtained from limited experiments and researches which is not enough to support the argument as a whole. Also more related examples and consideration of surrounding factors like the area of conducting experiments, its environmental conditions, the hormone cortisol’s initial level in humans and in monkeys and in which kind of situations stimulation happens and what rate. With the help of these results and facts only the whole argument will be supported.