A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

According to author conclusion that North America suffer more of fatigue and depression than compare to people in Asia. The main reason behind it is Asians eat soy which is contains phytochemicals called isoflavones which helps to reduce the fatigue and depression hence, North America people should eat soy.

First flaw in the above argument is the chronic fatigue and chronic depression are two different disease. The fatigue is caused due to physical activity where as, depression is psychological problem. hence, we cannot draw conclusion that by eating soy the disease will be cured.

The soy contains rich nutrition its good that we should eat soy daily for good health. Author said that it contains phytochemicals called isoflavones which cure few disease but, he has not mention how it will cure the fatigue and depression by consuming daily which is vague assumption. If he had explained how this isoflavones is related to the above disease then the argument will be strengthen and valid.

Even the climate condition is different in both the countries. Where in North America it will be more cold compare to Asia, it may be the reason for fatigue or depression hence, author should have explained about climate condition whether it effect the disease or not.

In conclusion, the above argument has many flaws hence it weaken the argument with lack of assumption. If the author had given few statements related to isoflavones which helps to cure fatigue and depression then it would be flawless.